Miniature Monday: Don’t Go Into the Woods

by Nate Birkholz

Circle Orboros represents the red in tooth, red in claw side of nature to be sure, and I am currently working on two of the more emblematic figures that embody this: Wurmwood, Tree of Fate and The Lord of the Feast. (Circle Orboros makes up for its lack of titular preposition by liberally applying them elsewhere.)

Wurmwood, Tree of RAWR!!!!!

Wurmwood is relatively straightforward to paint, though it has a lot of detail. The photo washes out the skulls around the base–the shading is much darker in person, but I will still need to deepen the shadows in the eye sockets. Painting all the ropes was getting fussy and I surrendered partway through the day. I have yet to field Cassius and Wurmwood, but am looking forward to the day I feel advanced enough to take on the challenge.

Om nom nom nom nom nom nom nom nom nom nom nom nom...

While Circle Orboros doesn’t have anything I’d call as much of a “crutch” or auto-include as the Choir or the Deathjack, The Lord of the Feast comes close, “bloody” close (har!).  I specifically started painting him to remove him from my battle bag and try something else with the four points. I’m still having trouble with the skin, drybrushing didn’t work out the way I wanted it to. I need to do a little more glazing and highlighting, the shading ended up too heavy-handed.

3 Comments to “Miniature Monday: Don’t Go Into the Woods”

  1. Very nice work! I really loved painting my Lord of the Feast, He was a challenging model. The detail on him is amazing and I really had to push the boat out to do it. So far yours looks really great! I haven’t tackled Wurmwood at all but maybe someday soon…

  2. I love your wurmwood, whats the recipe you use for the bark and the bare wood? Been wracking my brain trying to come up with a decent color set up for the tree.

    • Thanks! I am using Vallejo Model Colors and Citadel washes. The bare wood is Iraqui Sand base, drybrushed with Ivory. The bark is Flat Brown base, drybrushed with Ochre Brown. I then wash the whole thing with Devlan Mud, let it dry, then wash the bark with Devlan Mud again, adding extra in some areas and along the edge of the bark against the bare wood. Then drybrush the bark lightly with the Ochre Brown and the wood with Iraqui Sand. Rope and skeletons are Ivory, washed with Gryphonne Sepia for the bone and Devlan Mud for the rope.Lemon squeezy.

Leave a Reply

