More from PAX

by Nate Birkholz

I was fortunate enough to get to spend some more time at the Privateer Press booth today. I got to chat yet again with Jen Ikuta (BobaFerret), and chatted with a couple of very friendly Press Gangers. I also had a great conversation with Doug Seacat, whose work I admire. My appreciation for Doug’s work is both as a player for the excellent stories he creates, but also a professional appreciation for the knotted skein he has to thread through the fiction to cover the goals of supporting the models and game rules they are introducing,  drive a multitude of individual stories through compelling character arcs without invalidating the game rules of the models, give the players insights into the world, provide a sandbox for the IK Roleplaying game, and entertain the reader, all the while providing opportunities for future expansion and not closing off the world to player stories or game rules. Nice job, Doug.

The other day I focused most on the models that interest me, but I wanted to fill in the blanks of what was for sale at the show. There are a random assortment of long-established models for sale, but these are the new or upcoming models I have seen (note that I don’t follow every faction as closely as I do Khador and Circle, so some of these may be not as new I thought):

  • The Plastic Warmachine Battleboxes
  • The metal versions of the plastic Battlebox warcaster sculpts (all with a 2010 suffix on the model name)
  • The new character ‘Jack kits and the plastic kits for them
  • Lord Carver, BMMD
  • Gun Boar
  • War Hog
  • Croak Hunter
  • Thrullg
  • Trollkin Skinner
  • Gunnbjorn
  • Paingiver Taskmaster
  • Aptimus Marketh
  • Nephilim Bolt Thrower
  • Spell Martyrs
  • Stinger
  • Druid Wilder
  • Stone Keeper
  • Reeves of Orboros Chieftain and Standard Bearer
  • No Quarter 32
  • Trollbloods Book

The color blending has sustained atttack, also.

I totally just got the Gun Bore pun.

Sigh, impeccable shading on the fingernails? I surrrender.

Blah blah Star Wars Joke blah

There is potentially new product for Monsterpocalypse, but I wouldn’t recognize it.

I also got a chance to stop by the invitational tournament, where two Circle Orboros players were in evidence, but I didn’t want to disturb anyone with my observation so I just looked around for a couple minutes before I left.

All in all, I hope it has been a deservedly successful show for Privateer. Their booth has certainly been busy.

Leave a Reply

