Terrans vs. Dindrenzi

by Nate Birkholz

Yesterday, a coworker and I got in what was supposed to be a quick game of Firestorm Armada, but since it was only our second game, we had no idea what we were doing, and the game took hours.

I played my Terran fleet, “Task Force Mars,” and Matt played his Dindrenzi. We had one planet that I had painted up, and another coworker cut some nebulae out of white paper: we decided the nebulae blocked LOS (halving Attack Dice), but had no effect on movement. I fared rather poorly, losing a lot of my ships early on, though I did manage to board and capture one Dindrenzi frigate using my Cruisers.

In brief, I came out of the deployment zone and tried to move around one flank, using the planet and a nebula for cover, but we got hung up on one another near the planet, and traded a lot of volleys that left me without most of my ships. My Battleship then played cat and mouse with his remaining forces, and was actually slowly winning the battle of attrition with his battleship because my shields were working rather well–I had doubted the effectiveness of shields from reading the rules, but in practice they really made a difference, preventing several critical hits and even reducing all damage a couple times. Still, in the end, Matt had three Frigates (in two squadrons), two Cruisers, and a mostly-functional Battleship and was well-positioned to take me out next turn if we hadn’t run out of time after three or so hours of looking up rules (photo is from right before he dusted my last Frigates and the final Cruiser)!

Amid the nebulae

We hadn’t previously used the boarding rules, hadn’t used the Cut Engines maneuver, hadn’t used any sort of terrain, and hadn’t used a lot of torpedoes previously. Now we are little more familiar with those rules, though I feel like we didn’t really do the boarding properly: I should got to the Firestorm Armada forums and ask some followup questions. Next time we will use the fighter wings, and there will be much confusion.

Leave a Reply

